Derek Baxter discussing In Pursuit of Jefferson: Traveling through Europe with the Most Perplexing Founding Father

Wednesday, March 2, 2022 - 7:00pm
Virtual Event

Derek Baxter discussing In Pursuit of Jefferson: Traveling through Europe with the Most Perplexing Founding Father

Wednesday, March 2 at 7pm ET

Location: Virtual Event

Join us for Derek Baxter discussing In Pursuit of Jefferson: Traveling through Europe with the Most Perplexing Founding Father. Purchase the book or sign up below to receive a link to this virtual event via email the day before the event.  

A debut that combines historical nonfiction with travel books, for fans of Bill Bryson and Tony Horwitz, In Pursuit of Jefferson is the story of an American on a journey through Europe, following the epic trail of Thomas Jefferson.

A controversial founding father. A man ready for a change. And a completely unique trip through Europe.

In 1784, Thomas Jefferson was a broken man. Reeling from the loss of his wife and stung from a political scandal during the Revolutionary war, he needed to remake himself. To do that, he traveled. Wandering through Europe, Jefferson saw and learned as much as he could, ultimately bringing his knowledge home to a young America. There, he would rise to power and shape a nation.

More than two hundred years later, Derek Baxter, a devotee of American history, stumbles on an obscure travel guide written by Jefferson—Hints for Americans Traveling Through Europe—as he's going through his own personal crisis. Who better to offer advice than a founding father himself? Using Hints as his roadmap, Baxter follows Jefferson through six countries and countless lessons. But what Baxter learns isn't always what Jefferson had in mind, and as he comes to understand Jefferson better, he doesn't always like what he finds.

In Pursuit of Jefferson is at once the story of a life-changing trip through Europe, an unflinching look at a founding father, and a moving personal journey. With rich historical detail, a sense of humor, and boundless heart, Baxter explores how we can be better moving forward only by first looking back.

 

Derek Baxter graduated from the University of Virginia with a degree in history. He wrote a book about his experience following the route through Europe that Jefferson set out in Hints to Americans. After years of research, Derek made nine separate trips abroad on Jefferson's trail.

 

In Pursuit of Jefferson: Traveling through Europe with the Most Perplexing Founding Father By Derek Baxter Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781728225388
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks - March 15th, 2022

RSVP Form: 

Derek Baxter RSVP

*By RSVPing to this virtual event, you consent to receive emails from Joseph-Beth.

All fields marked with '*' denotes mandatory fields